apumallariA few days ago, I was in this Uber car. I like using Uber because Uber drivers are normally excellent political analysts. And this particular driver asked some very penetrating questions as we talked about current events:

  • “Why aren’t we united?”
  • “Why don’t we care for each other?”
  • “Why can’t we set aside our self-interests?”

His observations actually point to the fact that we live in a broken world. There is a lot of innate goodness in every human being. However, our latent selfishness and self-centeredness contribute to so much brokenness in our relationships with others.

If you’re familiar with the Bible, we read about how Cain murdered his brother, Abel. When God confronted Cain and asked him where Abel was, Cain blurted out: “Am I my brother’s keeper?” (Genesis 4:9 NIV). A more contemporary rendering of this question is, “Am I my brother’s guardian?” or “Am I my brother’s babysitter?”

This was the very first question a human being ever asked of God. However, it was not an honest question; Cain was not seeking an answer. It was rhetorical. The arrogance behind his response was obvious. He practically said, “I don’t care where my brother is. And I don’t care about him at all!” What an unkind thing to say, right? This uncaring and unkind attitude is what my Uber driver had observed.

We live in the midst of a “Selfie” culture in which the prevailing worldview is: ”It’s all about me.” That’s another way of saying, “Am I my brother’s keeper?” If this worldview describes you, then let me be the bearer of bad news—you are missing out on the plan of God for your life. His Word says:

“The Lord has told you what is good, and this is what he requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God” (Micah 6:8).

Love your neighbor as yourself (Matthew 22:39).

Do to others whatever you would like them to do to you (Matthew 7:12).

Every word you say, every act you do, every post you publish on social media has consequences on yourself and others. I hope these consequences are helpful and God-glorifying. And if you ever ask God, “Am I my brother’s keeper?” remember that His answer is always, “Yes, you are.”

Leave a Reply

