the-crossJesus is Lord.

That is the fundamental, irreducible declaration of a person who claims to be a Bible-believing Christian. These days, we encounter the word “Lord” mainly in references to members of nobility in the United Kingdom. As a result, many do not understand the full implication of the Christian’s confession, “Jesus is Lord.” The Bible says,

If you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved (Romans 10:9 HCSB).

In the New Testament, the Greek word for Lord is kurios which is defined as “he to whom a person or thing belongs, about which he has power of deciding; the title given to God, the Messiah.” Therefore, when I confess “Jesus is Lord,” I am clarifying the following:

  • Who I am: I am a slave of Jesus.
  • Whose I am: I belong to Jesus; he bought me with his precious blood.
  • Where I will be spending eternity: I am going to heaven because I am saved: my sins are forgiven.

The complementary word to kurios is doulos. There could be no kurios without a doulos. Doulos is the Greek word for slave. A slave is under the full, dominant control of his lord. A slave is owned by his lord. A slave is devoted to the will of his lord, and in so doing, disregards his own interests. In this sense, I am a doulos of Kurios Iesous; that is, I am a slave of the Lord Jesus.

Some might exclaim, “Why, that is slavery! The world hates tyrants, dictators and tyrants.” Sure, you could call this slavery; however, my Lord Jesus cannot be compared to any human despot. He is not a capricious tyrant. Instead, among many other things:

  • My Lord loves me (John 3:16)
  • My Lord died for my sins (Romans 5:8)
  • My Lord blessed me with every spiritual blessing (Ephesians 1:3)
  • My Lord gave me eternal life (1 John 5:11-12)
  • My Lord calls me his friend (John 15:14)
  • My Lord protects me (Romans 8:31)
  • My Lord gave me the honor to work with him in his mission (2 Corinthians 6:1)

With a Lord like this, I would gladly be his slave in 2016 and for all eternity!

What about you? The alternative to submission to the lordship of Jesus is scary: “Everyone who commits sin is a slave of sin” (John 8:34) and “the wages of sin is death” (Romans 6:23). If you are not a slave of Jesus, the Bible says you are a slave of sin. Slavery to sin results in death. Would you rather have that? I hope not. Choose Jesus.

<Any advertisement that may appear below does not belong to me.>

Leave a Reply

