RainbowFlagThe United States recently became the 21st country that fully recognized and legalized same-sex marriage. A lot has been said about this development, and I understand how polarizing a discussion on this issue can be. However, I want to comment on the most popular hashtag that netizens use to express their solidarity with the recent US Supreme Court decision: #LoveWins!

As an evangelical Christian, I regard the Holy Bible as the standard for my beliefs and behavior. I regard the Bible as the Word of God; therefore, I read it, reflect on it, study it, teach it, and by the grace of God, obey it. So, when I read what people say about #LoveWins! in relation to same sex marriage, naturally I turn to the Bible and see what God says about love. Here are a couple of verses:

  • But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love (1 John 4:8).
  • Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them (John 14:21).

The logic is simple. God is the absolute standard of love and the best way to show our love for God is to obey his commands. As such, it is obvious that “love” in the popular #LoveWins! is not defined in biblical terms. Why? It is because God clearly said:

“Do not practice homosexuality, having sex with another man as with a woman. It is a detestable sin” (Leviticus 18:22).

Same sex marriage may be legal in 21 countries. But in my understanding, it is disobedience to God’s command. How then can you say that love wins in this issue, when you are disobedient to God–the  ultimate and absolute standard of love?

Actually, I also believe that #LoveWins! but my belief is based on Romans 5:8–

 But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.

That is the love that truly wins.

<Any advertisement that may appear below is not mine.>

Leave a Reply

