whr-logoA few days ago, on April 23rd, the Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) released the World Happiness Report 2015. The report states that the citizens of Switzerland are the world’s happiest. The Philippines ranked #90 out of 158 nations polled.

What?! Our country scored that low? I thought it’s more fun in the Philippines? We should do something about this!

While having lunch at Sofia’s Greek and Mediterranean restaurant last week, I had a brief conversation with the owner, Marvin. Like all conversations these days, we talked about Manny Pacquiao’s upcoming boxing match against Floyd Mayweather, Jr. Marvin said, “I hope Manny wins. The Philippines really needs some good news these days.”

When he said this, the first thought that came to my mind was: “If the country’s happiness and well-being is dependent on the outcome of a boxing match, then we’re in trouble!” If there’s really nothing to celebrate in our country these days, then it is no wonder that we ranked very low in the World Happiness Report 2015. The report is supposed to guide governments in policy-making, and so, I hope the Philippine government takes notice and acts accordingly.

The Bible says a lot about true happiness. Let me just share one verse:

Happy is the man who finds wisdom, and the man who gains understanding (Proverbs 3:13 NKJV).

Oh, how I wish that SDSN interviewed me (and so many of my friends) for this happiness survey because based on this verse, I am such a happy man! All by the grace of the infinitely wise God.

<Note: Any advertisement that may may appear below does not belong to me.>

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

