Globe PeaceWorld peace.

I am sure this conjures images of FBI Agent Gracie Hart (played by Sandra Bullock) turned undercover beauty pageant contestant in the 2000 film, Miss Congeniality. But I’m serious. I really want world peace for my birthday.

  • I want peace in the Middle East, a region in turmoil. Increasing acts of violence by ISIS members, Arab-Israeli conflict, aggression against religious groups and ethnic minorities, etc. When will these end?
  • I want peace in a world that’s torn by prejudice, discrimination and intolerance. You know what the sad thing is? Many of those who were formerly persecuted and discriminated upon are now the ones who are intolerant of others who do not agree with them. It’s a vicious cycle.
  • I want peace in the West Philippine Sea, a place known to have vast reserves of natural gas, and therefore, is claimed by the Philippines and other neighboring countries. Tensions are mounting as giant China seems to be bullying its way into occupying the contested area. It has always been that way: those with power wield it to their advantage.
  • I want peace in my church. You are dreaming if you think that conflict is non-existent in churches. Anger, bitterness, rage, slander, selfishness–all these sins are still lurking within us.
  • I want peace in my family. I will be the first to admit that I am not the perfect husband, father, brother, cousin, and in-law. But hey, neither is anyone in our family. And so, we quarrel every now and then. In some instances, reconciliation never happens.

Yes, I want world peace for my birthday tomorrow. But as I read God’s Word, this is what I learned: peace begins in me and with me.

Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony. And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are called to live in peace. And always be thankful. (Colossians 3:14-15 NLT)

Photo credit: http://www.neoformix.com

<Note: Any advertisement that may appear below is not mine. Thanks.>

Leave a Reply

