Members of the PNP Special Action Force unit carry metal caskets containing the bodies of slain SAF police who were killed in Sunday's clash with Muslim rebels, upon arriving at Villamor Air Base in Pasay cityHow would you feel if, in times of sorrow and grief, your children would choose to retreat to a corner and cry by themselves rather than run to you for comfort and hugs? I would be devastated, for sure.

This thought came to my mind when I saw how grieving police personnel simply kept silent when Philippine President Aquino, who claims to be the father of the nation, attempted to boost their morale because of the slaying of their comrades, the Fallen 44. I do pray for wisdom for the president, not only to be able to calm public outrage, but also in leading this nation competently.

You will surely encounter something (or someone) that will cause you grief. In fact, I will not be surprised if you are going through tough times now. My question is, would you rather cry in a corner by yourself rather than go to our loving Lord for comfort? Would you dare give Jesus the silent treatment? How do you think that would make our Lord feel? Jesus Christ said:

“Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:28-29).

  • Are you burdened by a wayward spouse or rebellious children? Jesus said, “Come to me.”
  • Are you grieving the loss of a loved one or friend? Jesus said, “Come to me.”
  • Are you troubled by cancer or some debilitating illness? Jesus said, “Come to me.”
  • Are you anxious about your career or financial stability? Jesus said, “Come to me.”
  • Are you weary of how elected leaders run your nation’s government? Jesus said, “Come to me.”

Whatever is troubling you right now, do not give Jesus the silent treatment. Don’t just grit your teeth and bear it. Stop bad-mouthing the president or others who you think is responsible for your grief. Pray. Run to Jesus. Bring your heavy burdens to him. He promises to give you rest. Do that today–for your sake. And for his glory.

<Note: Any advertisement that may appear below is not mine.>

 

Leave a Reply

