LloyDahlinTheRuinsThis post is primarily for my fellow husbands, but I’m sure the wives would love this. So please, read on.

Prayer is an integral part of my life. I connect and communicate with my God through prayer and his Word. The Bible has much to say about how a robust prayer life indicates a deep level of intimacy with the heavenly Father. Therefore, I always seek to grow in my prayer life.

There is one important lesson on prayer that I have been focusing since the beginning of the new year. This lesson, based on 1 Peter 3:7, is for married men who wish to pray effectively–

In the same way you married men should live considerately with [your wives], with an intelligent recognition [of the marriage relation], honoring the woman as [physically] the weaker, but [realizing that you] are joint heirs of the grace (God’s unmerited favor) of life, in order that your prayers may not be hindered and cut off. [Otherwise you cannot pray effectively.] – Amplified Bible

The lesson is simple: my effectiveness in prayer is directly related to the way I treat my wife. What should I do then?

Peter said that I should live considerately with my wife Dahl, give honor to her, and treat her as an equal partner in God’s gift of grace. When I do so, my prayers will not be hindered and cut off. In other words, if I claim to love God at all, I must show it by loving Dahl, being kind and tenderhearted toward her. It’s only the first week of the year, and I have already apologized to Dahl twice for being inconsiderate! I am grateful that I married a gracious and forgiving woman. Together, I believe we will grow in prayer in 2015.

Married men, my intentions are clear: join me in building a movement of praying husbands–husbands who prove that they love the God whom they cannot see by loving their wives who they see and live with each day. Wives, prepare for some greater loving, and praying, from your husbands this year!

 <Advertisements that may appear below are not mine. – Lloyd>

 

One thought on “A Prayer Lesson for Husbands

  1. Thanks brother Lloyd for this simple clear yet very profound Biblical emphasis that can bring our greater potentials experienceable through the marriage relationship-bond. May we be all able to love and live much more pleasing to God…. thru His empowering grace in Christ Jesus. AMEN!

Leave a Reply

