DonutI love doughnuts. Krispy Kreme’s Original Glazed, Go Nuts Donuts’ Chocolate Frost, J.Co.’s Alcapone, and Cello’s Oreo doughnuts–I will enjoy these any day of the week, any time of the day. I know, I know. It’s bad for my health; but they’re just so good!

However, after hearing Pastor Philip Tarroja speak at an event a couple of days ago, I am rethinking my love for doughnuts. He cautioned: “Do not build a doughnut ministry; one that has a hole in the middle. That is, the core is missing.” He went on to explain that the core of any ministry is love–love for God first of all, then love for others. Indeed, without love, why bother with ministry?

  • Owe nothing to anyone—except for your obligation to love one another. If you love your neighbor, you will fulfill the requirements of God’s law. (Romans 13:8).
  • If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. (1 Corinthians 13:2)

It’s December again. It’s the right time of the year to reflect on the core of all that we do: love. This is because we will be celebrating Christmas soon. When God sent his Son, Jesus Christ, into this world to die on the cross for our sins, he demonstrated the highest expression of love we could ever see. Celebrate the season because of this love. Let that love control your speech and behavior each day. Don’t live a life or engage in a ministry that is empty in the middle.

Well, I guess I will never see doughnuts in the same way again. Perhaps, I’ll just have Dunkin Donuts’ Boston Kreme–because it’s core is intact!

<Any advertisement that may appear below is not mine. Thanks. – Lloyd>

One thought on “Building a Doughnut Ministry

  1. Pastor Lloyd, your messages are both profound and humbling. You reflect the light & wisdom of God. Thank you po.

Leave a Reply

