Maslow-WifiWhen lightning struck very near our house last Sunday, we promptly lost our internet connection. I knew our modem-router was fried. This was confirmed four days later when, finally, service personnel came to pronounce my modem-router as officially dead. They replaced it with a new one, and so, I’m back online.

I usually work from home. I connect with people from different time zones through email, Skype and social media. I also do a lot of research. Therefore, internet service is absolutely necessary for me to carry out my job. So, based on my recent experience, I am agreeing with whoever added “Wi-fi” as the most basic of human needs in the 21st century to Abraham Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.

You could take this discussion in any direction you like, but I would like to cite Maslow’s belief that self-actualization is a continual process of becoming rather than a perfect, static state that you achieve in life. I agree. You are not just a human being, You are also a human becoming. So, if Wi-fi, or the internet, is a basic need that could help you develop your full potential then I hope that need is met day after day.

But remember, your full potential is linked to the person of Jesus Christ. We seek to meet all these needs in a process of becoming more like Christ, and in helping others become like Him.

 He is the one we proclaim, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom, so that we may present everyone fully mature in Christ (Colossians 1:28).

This tells me that self-actualization should be renamed Christlikeness.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

