614IntrovertYouthPastor_698236682I am an introvert.

I know, I know. A lot of you don’t believe this, but it’s true. I really am.

Logic would say that an introvert like me should have remained in computer programming, the field I entered after I graduated from college. However, 27 years ago, God called me out of the corporate world and into the vocational gospel ministry. Since then, I had served as a pastor, church planter, seminary instructor, and missionary.

Can you imagine how difficult it is for an introvert to be fulfilling pastoral responsibilities where the major part of his time is spent relating to people? Believe me, that is exhausting. But you know what? I know dozens of pastors who are introverts themselves! How illogical is that?

It’s a good thing that our purpose in life is not dependent on human logic, but on the all-wise God. He is never mistaken, although at times we scratch our heads and wonder…

  • Why did he choose the prostitute Rahab to be an ancestor of the promised Savior of the world?
  • Why did he choose the young shepherd boy David to kill the Philistine giant who mocked the armies of Israel?
  • Why did he choose the murderer Saul to become the most effective missionary and church planter of the early Church?
  • Why did he choose to send his own Son Jesus Christ to die a criminal’s death to pay for the penalty of our sins?

These do not make sense, right? Illogical! Foolishness, if I may add.

But remember, the God who did all these knows all things and is the source of all wisdom. And if we pass judgments on what God does by simply relying on human logic or wisdom, remember that:

For the wisdom of this world is foolishness to God. As the Scriptures say, “He traps the wise in the snare of their own cleverness.”And again, “The Lord knows the thoughts of the wise; he knows they are worthless” (1 Corinthians 3:19-20).

Does the role God wants you to play in his kingdom defy human logic? Good. This is an excellent opportunity for God to show, through you, the illogicalness of logic. For his glory.

<Photo credit: Benjer McVeigh>

<Disclaimer: I have no control over what advertisements wordpress.com places under my posts. Thanks for your understanding. – Lloyd>

Leave a Reply

