imageAs Dahl stirred under the sheets, fighting the morning’s call to get up, I greeted her profusely and offered a pastoral prayer for her birthday today. Then I said, “So this is how it feels to be sleeping beside a 50-year old woman.” She retorted, “And I have been sleeping beside a 51-year old man!” She was wide awake after that. Hahaha.

Today, I offer my nth prayer of thanks to God for the privilege and honor of being married to Dahl, my best friend and partner in ministry. It has been a joy to see how God is molding her into the kind of person he wants her to be. As she goes through this process, I reap many benefits as well. I echo the words of King Lemuel:

A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. (Proverbs 31:10 NIV)

I first noticed Dahl’s noble character when I met her almost 30 years ago. She sensed my intention to court her and so she told me her three-pronged priorities in life: Master, Mission, and Mate. She will love her Master, the Lord Jesus Christ with all her heart, soul and mind. She is committed to joining God in his Mission. And she will do this together with her God-given Mate.

Dahl has never wavered. She remains passionately and completely devoted to these priorities. And now that she’s 50, she is not showing signs of slowing down. I believe she’s just getting started. Therefore, I look forward with excitement to another year with this 50-year old woman, whom I dearly love, because I know that she will receive and fulfill more God-sized assignments this year.

Onwards, Dahl! Your Mate is right here with you, loving our Master and fulfilling his Mission.

Happy birthday!

<Disclaimer: I have no control over what advertisements wordpress.com places under my posts. Thanks for your understanding. – Lloyd>

4 thoughts on “Sleeping with a 50-year old woman

  1. P. Lloyd, u are indeed blessed to have sis Dahl as your MATE. and i believe she is blessed to have you too! it is truly wonderful if the union of husband and wife is founded on the love for the MASTER. rejoicing with you!! hugs and love from Afghanistan.

  2. Pastor Lloyd… I myself am already 50 going 51 – yet how amazing it is that I still feel like 15 going 16 hehehe 🙂 I’m sure you too feel the same… for those who are in the Master don’t grow old anymore – they just increase their Karats 😀

Leave a Reply

