I went to a birthday picnic this afternoon and naturally, people were asking where my wife Dahl is. Well, she has been in Miami since May 1st as part of the Wycliffe team that is promoting Bible translation ministries at Expolit13. Eventually, the birthday celebrant asked me, “How come you were not the one sent to the event?”

Actually, my supervisor first asked me to go with her to Expolit13. However, I told her that it was better for Dahl to go. I gave her two reasons. First, those attending Expolit13 are all Spanish-speaking Christians and Dahl habla español sin vergüenza. In other words, Dahl fearlessly speaks Spanish; she’s not self-conscious about making mistakes.

Screen Shot 2013-04-30 at 11.57.31 AM (2)Second, Dahl’s outgoing, extroverted personality is perfect for an event such as this. She is energized by non-stop social interaction. And our daily conversations are filled with stories about the people she met. I am glad that she is enjoying her work, and I am sure people have been encouraged by her ministry as well. The decision to send her instead of me was the right decision.

In living life intentionally, you must know who you are, and love who you are. You must acknowledge your strengths and humbly admit your weaknesses. You can only be effective in the Kingdom of God if you understand and accept what your God-given assignment is and what skill-set God has blessed you with. No matter how talented you are, you cannot do God’s mission all by yourself. God determined that we should work with one another in fulfilling his mission.The apostle Paul reminds us in 1 Corinthians 12:4-7:

There are different kinds of spiritual gifts, but the same Spirit is the source of them all. There are different kinds of service, but we serve the same Lord. God works in different ways, but it is the same God who does the work in all of us. A spiritual gift is given to each of us so we can help each other.

I truly rejoice that I have Dahl and so many others who I can partner with in helping to see Scriptures in every language in our generation. Thanks to all of you!

One thought on “Why I am not in Miami this week

  1. It isn’t Mother’s Day yet, but this post of yours, Lloyd, I see as your first Mother’s Day present to Dahl. It is a beautiful tribute, and the expression of a healthy Christian faith.

Leave a Reply

