BravoShowLogo_0030_KathyI am not sure why Kathy Griffin’s controversial remarks at the 2007 Emmy Awards are circulating on Facebook this week. I observe that a lot of Christians are still agitated by her seven-year old remarks. She said: “Now, a lot of people come up here and thank Jesus for this award. I want you to know that no one had less to do with this award than Jesus. He didn’t help me a bit… So all I can say is suck it, Jesus, this award is my God now!”

I will no longer respond to Griffin’s seeming attempt to be funny at the expense of Jesus. Many have done that already. Instead, I would like to point out how a professing Christian responds to verbal assaults on his Lord and on his faith. Here are possible ways:

1. Attack. Fight back. Launch into a harangue yourself. Do what the advocates for religious toleration are doing–be mean and intolerant! Christians say a lot of nasty words too when expressing their disapproval. If you do this, aren’t you simply conforming to “the pattern of this world” (Romans 12:2)?

2. Ignore. Jesus can defend himself, you say. Turn the other cheek. However, if someone says something bad and untrue against my sons, I would not simply keep quiet. In the same way, I will not ignore it when someone goes on a tirade against my Lord Jesus.

3. Speak the truth in love (Ephesians 4:15). This is the response that pleases Jesus. Strike the balance between truth and love. If you force the truth on people like Griffin, then you are just being cruel. However, if you water down the truth because you want to be loving, then you are lying. Tell the truth, and tell it lovingly. You cannot control how people respond to you, but you can determine how you will communicate with them. “Watch the way you talk. Let nothing foul or dirty come out of your mouth. Say only what helps, each word a gift” (Ephesians 4:29, The Message).

As a follower of Christ, I am called “the salt of the earth,” “the light of the world” and his “witness.” His marching orders are unmistakable. I have been commissioned to communicate the truth of the gospel as lovingly as I can. That is what I will do…even on my posts and tweets.

My intentions are clear.

4 thoughts on “Tirades against my Jesus

  1. Thank you for the truths in your post, P. Loyld. I’m more of the type to water down the truth to avoid a confrontation. But I realize: watering down the truth is NOT loving, and, yes, it is lying. Your post connects with what G4 studied last night–Matthew 7:1-6–as well as to Proverbs 27:5 “Better is open rebuke than hidden love,” but always in love.

    1. Oh, I’m glad that the post coincided with your lesson. Isn’t it cool when God does that? He wants us to learn a specific lesson, and so he places us in situations where learning is enhanced.

Leave a Reply

