I almost jumped out of my bed this morning when this thought struck me as I read Ephesians 4:24–“Put on your new nature, created to be like God—truly righteous and holy.” In spite of my excitement, I tried my best to keep still because it was only 4:30 in the morning and my wife was sleeping soundly beside me. Her deep slumber actually was already being threatened by the background light of my iPad.

But I digress.

What is more interesting about this astounding insight is that it came while God was speaking to me in Spanish! “Pónganse la nueva naturaleza, creada para ser a la semejanza de Dios, quien es verdaderamente justo y santo.” I can’t believe it! I hear God speaking to me in a language I am still trying to learn. I just had to read the verse in English to make sure that I was understanding God clearly.

Wait, I digress again.

When I surrendered my life to Christ, he gave me a new nature. This nature was designed to be like God. Righteous and holy. So just as I decided to wear a red shirt today, Valentine’s Day, I too must decide to put on my new nature. God has given me what I need to be more like him–in the way I think, speak and behave: a new nature. It’s up to me to put it on. And that’s what I intend to do.

My intentions are clear.

Leave a Reply

