I am from the Philippines, a Filipino. “Pinoy” is a term of endearment, a nickname, that we Filipinos use to refer to ourselves. I also am a legal resident of Costa Rica, where citizens fondly call themselves Ticos. And even if we are here only temporarily, my wife and I proudly claim, “somos Ticos.” Therefore, I am a Pinoy-Tico.

However, being from two countries does not make me global. Referring to myself as a global Pinoy-Tico may sound a bit presumptuous; that is, if all that you know about me is that I am a Filipino who is living in Costa Rica.

You see, I regard myself as a global Pinoy-Tico because I belong to an international business enterprise. Our mission is to help our Boss build the biggest social network possible. This network is envisioned to be a great multitude that no one can count from every nation, tribe, people, and language. Our Boss has given up so much to fulfill this mission. I do not deserve all that he has done for me; that is why I will gladly do anything and will go anywhere in order to serve him. In fact, my wife and I are in Costa Rica right now because our Boss told us to be based here. He has commissioned us and many others to go to the ends of the earth to share his message and his love.

Through this blog, I want to introduce my Boss and his mission to as many people as possible. My Boss’ name?

Jesus Christ.

10 thoughts on “Global, Pinoy and Tico – Oxymoronic Title?

  1. This is a good start. Nice blog name and picture…I see Tico there from the word Atlantico…the mission is well-defined and most of all, the Boss is being identified as early as possible. Keep it coming. Regards to Dahl.

    1. Thanks, Arman. The ‘Tico” nickname was used because of the habit of costarricenses to use the diminutive. For example, a fond reference to one’s brother (hermano) would be “hermanitico.” A “chiquito” (or boy) would be identified as “chiquitico.” I’m sure you get the drift, mi hermanitico.

  2. Es cierto! Somos Pinoy, somos Ticos también! May our Boss give you more insights as you attempt to make His great name known through your blogs!

  3. “Pinoy-Tico” that’s one for the dictionaries! May the words of Ps 45:1 be a reality to you.
    “My heart is stirred by a noble theme
    as I recite my verses for the king;
    my tongue is the pen of a skillful writer.”

Leave a Reply

